Salsa Ride Camp 2016

img_1488

A little while ago I had mentioned that my next event would be the Salsa Ride Camp. I was stoked. An event right next to some of my favorite trails, with my favorite bikes, and favorite people. You can’t really go wrong.

What made it even better was taking three hooligans with me.

img_20160909_095308

We piled into the Bossman’s car with the all important cooler and four bikes and headed North.

7 hours later we took one right turn and found the magical Ride Camp.

img_1491

We arrived just in time for dinner. Salsa is not one to skimp on feeding a bunch of hungry bike riders. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner would be happening all weekend. That was my favorite luxury of the weekend, no tiny camp stove meal.

20160910_231032

The first night was all about settling in and getting to bed early so we could shred in the morning. Friday, Saturday, and Sunday would boast a schedule of rides, eating, learning, and general tom-foolery. I woke up early Saturday morning in search of coffee. There was plenty to go around.

20160910_133321

Then we gathered into groups to head out on rides of your choosing. A day long MTB ride, short MTB ride (with 2 skill levels), a gravel ride, even a fishing trip! I stuck with the MTB. The Woodsmoke. Man, I am having dreams about that thing. I have ridden at the CAMBA trails many times. I have never felt so confident and fast as I did on that bike.

20160910_101313

We rode for about an hour. Stopping halfway for snacks and chatting. Ben Weaver was the leader and I was the sweeper. Everyone got to ride their own pace, racing only yourself. Beyond the magical CAMBA trails there were some sweet bicycles.

20160910_102506

Seriously. A bear skull. On a Beargrease.

Heading back to camp we had lunch and then decided what bikes to ride next. I choose gravel. I couldn’t not ride some gravel.

 

We rode about 30 miles or so of “gravel” and sand. We hit the Chequamegon 40 course a couple of times and breezed past lake after lake. This ride. We were a mix of really, really fast dudes and chill dudes. The conversation was easy the riding was fun.

20160910_142713.jpg

After our ride it was time for dinner. But first, remember that easy conversation….we also made plans. Laura, one of the Salsa magicians, called ahead and ordered up whiskey shots with a pickle back. Pure magic. It’s really amazing what gravel rides can do ;).

20160910_184502

Dinner was time for beers, foods, more convo, more fire.

img_1446

Magical sunsets.

img_1588

FIRE.

Earlyish to bed. Early to rise. More coffee and time for riding. I decided to head to the MTB trails. I had to soak in as much of those trails as possible.

img_1589

After that last ride we made it back to camp and knew it was time to go. I didn’t want to go. I wanted to stay forever. Just move into that grassy field.

I want to make this an annual event for me. Just hanging out, having fun, getting rad.

img_1489

PEACE OUT RIDE CAMP!

Leave a Reply

